Foraging

I love wild edibles. There is just something amazing about foraging for your own food.

Today, we went and harvested wild leeks or wild onions.

My sprout picking wild leek greens.

I’m teaching my daughter how to forage. From identification to harvest, all the way through processing.

I dehydrate my leek greens…

I’m not picky how I toss then on the dehydrator.

Once they are dry, which only takes about 2 hours…but you want them DRY!

One feel dehydrator, reduced to a small container.

Into the blender they go!

And we chop.

Until you have a fine powder..,

This is what a days harvest is reduced to… A small bit in a jar.

We will go and get more, the season is just starting. Nothing tastes better than wild food!

About chequamegonliving

Working Mom making the most of her life. I am not conventional, but trying to find the balance.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment